President: W Littlejohns Mobi: Email: Bill.Littlejohns@gmail.com Secretary/Treasurer: P Hogg Mobi: Telephone : 0191-4871860 Email: peterhogg47@icloud.com



Minutes of the 37th ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING held at

Gateshead Masonic Hall on Friday 25th October 2024

Present:

Bill Littlejohns, President, Peter Hogg, Secretary/Treasurer. Bill Mair Competition

Secretary.

Committee Members: Andy Mills, Adrian Flynn, Michael Hoy Ray Armstrong. Michael Trippett. Michael Hoy

Representatives from the following member golf clubs: Beamish Park, Birtley, Boldon, Brancepeth Castle, Chester le Street, City of Newcastle. Consett, Durham City, Garesfield, Heworth, Hobson, Houghton Le Spring, Ramside, Ravensworth, Ryton, South Moor, South Shields, Seaham, Wearside, Whickham and Whitburn.

The President opened the meeting by reading "the notice of the calling of the meeting".

1. Apologies for absence

Apologies were received from Past Presidents Tony Nicholls & Bill Leathley. Peter Toole League Sponsor, Sean Glendinning Knockout Sponsor, Bob Ellison Secretary Roseberry Grange G.C. Crook G.C. & Washington G.C.

- 2. Minutes of the 36th AGM previously circulated were taken as read
- 3. There were no matters arising
- 4.I WOULD LIKE TO THANK THE FOLLOWING

To the Masonic hall here in Gateshead with special thanks to John and his bar staff and to Neil and his catering staff and service staff

To Peter Toole from the Great British Ground Screw Company for sponsoring the League and to Sean Glendinning from SG Industrial Cladding for his sponsorship of The league Knock Out Trophy

To the Executive for running the League and all other events during the season

To Peter Hogg our Secretary and Treasurer for his work in a double rolel

To Bill Mair our Competition Secretary and Andy Mills for their hard work in keeping all the Results and the Website up to date and publishing the results and the order of merit tables very quickly



President: Bill LittleJohns Secretary/Treasurer: Peter Hogg





President: W Littlejohns Mobi: Email: Bill.Littlejohns@gmail.com Secretary/Treasurer: P Hogg Mobi:



Telephone : 0191-4871860 Email: peterhogg47@icloud.com

The biggest thanks go to you the Clubs and the Players, the Caddies, the Sponsors and the Supporters who make our League what it is, one of fierce competition and brilliant sportsmanship

I WILL GIVE THE REMAINDER OF MY REPORT AFTER DINNER AS THERE ARE PEOPLE TO CONGRATULATE WHO ARE NOT PRESENT AT THIS MEETING

4. Secretary's Report:

I would like to thank all the Captains, Team Managers, Players and Officials for the hospitality shown, not only to myself but also to our President Bill Littlejohns, Bill Mair and Andy Mills as we travelled around all the league clubs this year. It was good to meet you all again.

I must thank Boldon for hosting our annual match against the Durham County Seniors Team. Chester le Street for hosting the 5 man team championship

The Hobson for hosting the Captain's and past captain's competition

Heworth for hosting the Alan Curtis Memorial Trophy

South Shields and South Moor for hosting the inter league executive matches

Also my thanks go to Andrew Denby of Tyneside Golf Club for allowing us once again to hold the final of our Knockout Trophy

Special thanks must go to our Competition secretary Bill Mair and Andy Mills who work on the scores not only of the league matches but also the competions, The Order of Merit Tables, Website, Blog and not forgetting the Photographs.

Finally I will run through the dates for next year.

Captain's Forum at Birtley Wednesday 19th March

League Team vs Durham County Seniors at Birtley Sunday 4th May

5 Man Team Championship at Wearside Sunday 1st June

Captain & Past Captain's at Brancepeth Friday 25th July

League Knockout Final at Tyneside Golf Club Sunday 24th August

Alan Curtis Memorial Trophy at City of Newcastle Sunday 14th September

Inter League Dixon Cup Final at Whitburn Sunday 21st September

Thank you all once again for your tremendous support



President: Bill LittleJohns Secretary/Treasurer: Peter Hogg

Competition Secretary: Bill Mair Past Presidents: Les Inskip Tony Nicholls, Bill Leathley Committee: Ray Armstrong, Dave Calvert, Adrian Flynn, Michael Hoy, Andy Mills (Co-opted) Michael Trippett (Co-opted) League Sponsor: Peter Toole - Great British Ground Screw Company KO Trophy Sponsor: Sean Glendinning - SG Industrial Cladding



President: W Littlejohns Mobi: Email: Bill.Littlejohns@gmail.com Secretary/Treasurer: P Hogg Mobi: Telephone : 0191-4871860 Email: peterhogg47@icloud.com

5. Competition Secretary's Report:

We thought that 2023 was a bad year for weather but this competition year had a spell at the start of the season which was worse. We had one week when only 2 out of the 12 matches were played.

But, thanks to all the efforts of Club Captains, Vice Captains and Team Managers, the league matches and all competitions were completed on schedule.

In an attempt to improve the reporting of the results each week, we tried out the use of Google Sheets this year. It has been reasonably successful and we have learned a lot about the use of the sheets. We now have a plan to improve and simplify their use in 2025. It has been good to have Andy on board to help with the results.

Once again we would like to thank the Clubs who hosted our other Trophies, particularly those which count for handicap. We rely on them to help with starting duties and to submit players scores through their Club handicap system.

Well done to Chester le Street for all their efforts with the Team Championship, The Hobson for hosting the Captains and Past Captains and to Heworth for the Alan Curtis Scratch Trophy.

Looking forward to the new season and to the challenges it will bring. If you haven't already seen the fixtures for next year, they are all up on the website. All the best for Christmas and the New Year to all.

6. Treasurers Report:

The statement of accounts were read out, these were current but, as all items relating to the Dinner were not yet complete, are not audited These would be done soonest and published with the AGM Minutes on the website

The Treasurer thanked Peter Toole from The Great British Ground Screw Co Ltd, for his continued support as sponsor of the league, and to Sean Glendenning at SG Industrial Cladding for sponsoring the Knockout Trophy.



President: Bill LittleJohns Secretary/Treasurer: Peter Hogg

Competition Secretary: Bill Mair Past Presidents: Les Inskip Tony Nicholls, Bill Leathley Committee: Ray Armstrong, Dave Calvert, Adrian Flynn, Michael Hoy, Andy Mills (Co-opted) Michael Trippett (Co-opted)
League Sponsor: Peter Toole - Great British Ground Screw Company KO Trophy Sponsor: Sean Glendinning - SG Industrial Cladding



2

North Durham

Inion of Golf

President: W Littlejohns Mobi: Email: Bill.Littlejohns@gmail.com Secretary/Treasurer: P Hogg Mobi: Telephone : 0191-4871860 Email: peterhogg47@icloud.com



7 Election of Officers/Executive for 2025

President: Bill Littlejohns

Secretary: Peter Hogg

Treasurer: Peter Hogg

Competition Secretary Bill Mair

Committee Members:

Adrian Flynn, Ray Armstrong, Michael Hoy Andy Mills, Michael Trippitt & Keith Armstrong

The above are declared duly elected

8. Election of Auditor Martin Johnson proposed by the executive was duly elected as auditor

There being no further business the President closed the meeting at 19.16 hrs



President: Bill LittleJohns Secretary/Treasurer: Peter Hogg

Competition Secretary: Bill Mair Past Presidents: Les Inskip Tony Nicholls, Bill Leathley Committee: Ray Armstrong, Dave Calvert, Adrian Flynn, Michael Hoy, Andy Mills (Co-opted) Michael Trippett (Co-opted) League Sponsor: Peter Toole - Great British Ground Screw Company KO Trophy Sponsor: Sean Glendinning - SG Industrial Cladding

