

Minutes of the 36th ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING of the North Durham Union of Golf Clubs Held at Gateshead Masonic Hall on Friday 27th October 2023

Present:-

Bill Littlejohns President, Peter Hogg Secretary/Treasurer, Bill Mair Competition Secretary, Executive Members: Adrian Flynn, Michael Hoy, Noel Warke. Knockout Trophy Sponsor from SG Industrial Cladding Sean Gledinning. Guests: David Proud President Durham County Golf, Michael Kelly Secretary Durham County Alan Bright Chairman Hadrian League & John Cobb Hadrian League.

Representatives from the following member golf clubs: Beamish Park, Birtley, Brancepeth Castle, Chester le Street, City of Newcastle, Consett, Crook, Durham City, Garesfield, Heworth, Hobson, Houghton le Spring, Ramside, Ravensworth, Seaham, South Moor, South Shields, Wearside, Whickham & Whitburn.

The President opened the meeting by reading "the notice of the calling of the meeting"

1. Apologies for absence.

Apologies were received from Past Presidents Tony Nicholls & Bill Leathley, Executive Members Ray Armstrong & Dave Calvert. Ryton & Washington Golf Club's. League Sponsor Peter Toole.

2. Minutes of the 45th AGM had been circulated and were taken as read.

3. Matters Arising

There were no matters arising.

4, Presidents Report:

I would like to thank the following. To the Masonic Hall here in Gateshead with special thanks to John and his bar staff, Neil and the catering and serving staff.

To Peter Toole from the Great British Ground Screw Company for his sponsorship of the league, Sean Glendinning from SG Industrial Cladding for sponsorship of the league Knockout Trophy.

To the executive for running the league and all the other events during the season.

A very special thank you to Noel Warke who has resigned as Secretary of the league but has guided us through this season.

To Peter Hogg our Secretary Treasurer for his work in a dual role.

To Bill Mair our competition Secretary for his difficult job in keeping up with all the results, Website and Blog. Including publishing all the results very quickly.

To Peter Burdess for running the player order of merit tables and his mastery of the clubs V1 systems. Unfortunately Peter has resigned from the Executive and I would like to inform the meeting that we have two vacancies.

The biggest thank you goes to you, the Clubs, Players, Caddies, Sponsors and Supporters. Who make this League what it is.One of Fierce competition and brilliant sportsmanship.







I will give the remainder of my report after dinner as there are people to congratulate who are not present at this meeting.

5. Secretary's Report.

I would first like to thank all the Captain's, Players and Official's for the hospitality shown, not only to myself but also to our President Bill Littlejohns, Bill Mair and Peter Burdess as we travelled around all the clubs in the league this year. It was good to get to know you all. I must thank Whickham for hosting the annual match against the Durham County Seniors. Beamish Park for hosting the 5 man team championship. Seaham for hosting the Captain's and Past Captain's competition. Garesfield for hosting the Alan Curtis Memorial Trophy. Also my thanks must go to Andrew Tenby of Tyneside Golf Club for allowing us to use Tyneside as a neutral venue for the final of the Knockout Trophy. Special thanks must go to Bill Mair and Peter Burdess who worked on the scores of the various competitions, the Order of Merit tables our website, Facebook page and the Blog. Finally I will run through the dates for nest year. Captain's Forum at Birtley Wed 20th March. Team vs the Durham Seniors at Boldon Sun 5th May 5 Man Team Championship at Chester le Street Sun 2nd June Captain's and Past Captain's competition at The Hobson Fri 12th July. League Knockout Final at Tyneside Sun 25th Aug. Alan Curtis Memorial Trophy at Heworth Sun 1st Sep. Dixon Cup Final Sunday 8th Sep. Thank you all once again.

6. Competition Secretary's Report.

Evening Gentlemen, This competition year has been a frustrating one with bad weather postponements and abandoned matches. The League season was completed a week later than scheduled and the Knockout Trophy Final had to be rearranged. The Dixon Cup Final, the northern inter League Champions Trophy organised by the Hadrian League had to be abandoned so our League Champions Durham City will have to wait for a new date to be arranged for the defence of the trophy they won last year. We did complete all our fixtures though and it has been a pleasure for me to be involved with the league especially seeing all the time and effort put in by Club Captain's, Vice Captain's and Team Managers.

This year we played for new trophy's in our three leagues. A player merit trophy for each division put up by our former secretary Noel Warke. This has been played for and added to the workload we have on a Tuesday night. We are always trying to publish the league tables and results as soon as we can, but it very much depends on each club reporting their results in good time.

Thanks go to all the hosting clubs for our other trophy's, particularly those which count for handicap. We rely on their help in submitting the scores through their club handicap system so well done to Beamish, Seaham and Garesfield.

We look forward to the new season and to the challenges it will bring. All the best to you all for Christmas and the New Year.







7. Treasurers Report.

The accounts were read out as they are currently. When all payments have been finalised and the full accounts audited they will be placed on the website along with the minutes.

8. Election of Officers for 2024. All existing Officers have agreed to stand again and no other nominations were received

The following have been proposed by the Executive: President Bill Littlejohns, Secretary/Treasurer Peter Hogg and Competition Secretary Bill Mair.

9. Election of Executive Committee.

The following have agreed to stand again. Ray Armstrong South Moor, Dave Calvert Seaham, Adrian Flynn Birtley & Michael Hoy The Hobson. We have vacancies for a further two on our committee. If anyone is interested please contact Peter Hogg.

10. Election of Auditor.

Martin Johnson of Torgersens of Gosforth was duly elected.

11. Wording changes to League Rule 3 & 8 with Competition Secretary instead of Secretary and League Results email is <u>Results@NDUGC.co.uk</u> were accepted.

There being no further business the AGM was closed at 19.07hrs



