AGM Minutes

Minutes of the ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING (2020) held by
Zoom Meeting at 6:45pm on Friday 6th November 2020

Bill Leathley President, Noel Warke, Secretary
Peter Hogg,Treasurer, Bill Mair, Competition Secretary. Tony Nicholls, Past President.
Committee Members : Adrian Flynn, Michael Hoy and Peter Burdess.
Representatives from the following member golf clubs: Beamish Park, Birtley, Boldon, Brancepeth Castle, Chester le Street, City of Newcastle, Consett, Durham City, Hobson, Ravensworth, South Shields, Seaham, Wearside, Washington, Whickham and Whitburn

(16 from 23 in attendance)
The President opened the meeting by reading “the notice of the calling of the meeting”.

  1. Apologies for absence
    Apologies were received from Les Inskip Past President, Executive members Bill Littlejohns, Ray Armstrong,and David Calvert, Sponsors Dave Conway .
    Garesfield, Heworth,Ramside, Crook, Ryton,Houghton Le Spring and South Moor.

  2. Minutes of the previous meeting held on 25th October 2019
    Taken as read

  3. Matters arising
    There were no matters arising

  4. President’s report
    This has been a very difficult year not only for the league but for every club as well.
    The situation has seen most clubs take advantage of the fact that many people on furlough have either taken up golf or have come back into the sport, this has now got to be all clubs foresight to carry on with this trend.
    The Executive took the decision early on, to cancel the league fixtures for 2020, with the hope that we may be able to get some form of competitions going once the restrictions were lifted.
    We were able to play the annual friendly match with the County Seniors at Seaham.
    We completed the league knock out fixtures with the final at Tyneside Golf Club.
    We were also able to run the Captains and Past Captains Trophy day at South Moor.
    The League Fixtures for 2021 have been distributed and are available on our website, lets hope we can get them underway without any restrictions.
    I would like to thank my executive for getting the events played and completed
    A big thank you to Peter Hogg our treasurer for keeping our finances in good health and to Les Inskip for completing the Audit on our account.
    My thanks to Bill Mair who has taken on the role of Competition Secretary but also had to relist all the items onto the new website, due to our previous provider being made defunct.
    As always Noel our Secretary has been out and about keeping people informed of all events and had visited as many clubs as possible during the season.
    We welcomed Peter Burdess (Brancepeth Castle) into the executive and I am sure his wealth of knowledge will only help to improve a great band of golf executives.

  5. Secretary’s Report:
    First of all I would like to thank Michael Rutter at City of Newcastle who has set up this opportunity to have this AGM via Zoom.
    To all the Club Captains for their continued support this season and as most of them will be keeping this role for a further year we already have a great working relationship.
    We made the decision to cancel the league fixtures early on as at the time it was more important that the health of everyone was respected more than anything else. Some would say we acted too quickly but we on the executive stand by what we have decided.
    I must thank Seaham Golf Club and Captain Peter Neal for hosting the friendly match against the County Seniors Team
    To South Moor Golf Club and Captain Scott Mitchell for Hosting the Captains and Past Captains Trophy.
    To Tyneside Golf Club and Peter Smith for hosting the League Knock Out Final we are very grateful for your co-operation.
    Thanks to Bill our Competition Secretary for all his work in setting up the Virtual League, this was a fun thing and most took it in the manner it was intended, we enjoyed most of the comments from the players.
    I would ask that all next season s Captains and Vice Captains check that they have mine and Bills email address for sending in results for the coming season.
    I will have more information for you at the Captain and Vice Captains forum in March.
    Congratulations go to our League team on winning the match against the County Seniors, to Chester Le Street Golf Club on winning the Knock Out Trophy in a thrilling final against last years winners Houghton Le Spring, and to John Parker on winning the Captains and Past Captains Trophy with a tremendous score of 39 points playing a handicap of 2, this was played in very testing conditions.
    I have sent the diary dates out for next season, they are on the website, there is one change of date, the Scratch Trophy has had to be moved to Sun 5th Sept at Ravensworth.
    I have nothing further to add and would just like to wish everyone well and look forward to the new season.

    6 Treasurers Report:
    The statement of accounts were read out and as Les Inskip had been in hospital they have still to be audited.
    The Treasurer thanked David Conway and Maxim Facilities Management for their continued support as sponsors of the league.
    He asked that we look for a new sponsor for the Knock Out Trophy if anyone can help please let the Treasurer or the Secretary know.
    The full statement of accounts is posted below.

    7 Election of Officers/Executive for 2021
    All existing Officers have agreed to stand again and as there are no others nominated
    President: William Leathley
    Secretary: Noel Warke
    Treasurer: Peter Hogg
    Competition Secretary Bill Mair
    Committee Members:
    David Calvert, Bill Littlejohns, Adrian Flynn, Ray Armstrong, Michael Hoy and Peter Burdess .
    Past Presidents: Les Inskip, and Tony Nicholls.
    All have agreed to continue in post. The above are declared duly elected.

    8 Election of Auditor
    Les Inskip duly elected as auditor

Presidents Remarks
This would normally take place after our annual dinner, however due to the circumstances we find ourselves in the President took the opportunity to say a few words.
With the Covid restrictions this season curtailing many events we still saw a great many of our team golfers do well in County events.
James Glenn won the County Strokeplay title and in doing so had the best ever 4 round total of 271.
James went on to win the County Matchplay title beating Ramsides Adam Charlton at the first play off hole.
Duran Gun from Washington won the county under 18 title following on from his success in the under 16 title win last year.
John Kennedy and Aaron Leathley won the Yorkshire pairs Challenge against 128 other pairs playing the 3 Ryder Cup Courses, Ganton, Moor Town and Lindrick.
Nigel King going for a second County Seniors title in a row lost out at the fifth extra hole after being tied with Stuart Brown of Castle Eden.
Well done to our Leagues Team Golfers who took part in all the County events.
We now look forward to the season ahead and hope that we are not interrupted in our plans for the League Season.
It is paramount that we abide by Government Rules and stay safe while we play this game we all love.
Good luck to you all and Stay Safe.
There being nothing further to add the AGM Zoom Meeting closed at 1910 hrs

Statement of Accounts


Brought Forward£4,497.04
Donation to DCGS£500.00
Donation£11.00Golf Competitions/Activities£350.00
Owen Shaw Trophies£120.00
NDUGC Clothing£40.00
Whitburn Overpayment£10.00
BALANCES AS AT31/10/2020£6,618.04
Debits as at 31/10/2020£1,486.76
Bank Account £5,131.28
Balance as at 16/09/2020£6,618.04